Uplift provides fast and easy lawsuit loans nationwide.

Wyoming Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Wyoming. With a population of 586,107, Wyoming is the 20th largest state in the United States, and ranks 25th for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, Wyoming scores a 10.0. This means that we consider it very easy for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in Wyoming. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in Wyoming.

Accident Injury in Wyoming

Wyoming’s yearly injury death rate of 85.5 per 100,000 places it 42.3% higher than the national average of 60.1.

Wyoming residents drive an estimated total of 10 billion miles yearly. That means the average Wyoming resident drives about of 16,374 miles per year. That figure is 70.0% higher than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. Wyoming residents are fairly bad when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 77.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in Wyoming, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 2.2%, which is 19.0% higher than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in Wyoming is 24.7. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $127 million yearly.

Wyoming Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 1, Ch. 3, Sec. 1-3-105; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Wyoming is 4 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame. Different states follow slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. In Wyoming, the guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Basically, this means that plaintiff’s share of the fault will offset total damages – Wyo. Stat. § 1-1-109(b). Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Wyoming must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Wyoming

Lawsuit loans in Wyoming remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift funds personal injury claims in most states. If you have any questions, or are interested in legal funding, apply online today or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Lawsuit Loans in Wisconsin

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Wisconsin. Wisconsin has a population of 5,771,337, making it the 20th largest state in the United States. It ranks 5th for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding is currently regulated on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, Wisconsin scores a 10.0, which signfies that it is very easy for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in Wisconsin. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to Wisconsin lawsuit loans

Wisconsin Personal Injury Statistics

Wisconsin has a yearly injury death rate of 65.1 per 100,000. This places Wisconsin much higher than the national average of 60.1, by about 8.3%.

Wisconsin residents drive an estimated total of 62 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 10,755 miles per year. To compare, that’s 11.7% higher than the national average of 9,630 miles per year. Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate.

In Wisconsin, residents are fairly bad when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 80.0%.

The drinking rate in Wisconsin, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 67.7% higher than the national average of 1.8% at 3.1%.

Partly due to these factors, Wisconsin’s car accident fatality rate is 9.8. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $692 million yearly.

Wisconsin Legal Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Chapter 893, Sec. 893.54; the civil statute of limitations in Wisconsin is 3 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue for negligence if you do not file your lawsuit within the limit. The degree to which plaintiff negligence impacts the liability claim varies from state-to-state. Wisconsin’s guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Essentially, this means that plaintiff’s share of the fault will offset total damages – Wis. Stat. § 895.045(1). Its important to keep in mind that if you request car accident lawsuit loans early-on in your claim, legal funding underwriters must assume Wisconsin state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Wisconsin

Lawsuit loans in Wisconsin remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift funds personal injury claims in most states. If you have any questions, or are interested in legal funding, apply online today or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Lawsuit Loans in West Virginia

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in West Virginia. West Virginia has a population of 1,844,128, making it the 7th largest state in the United States. It ranks 3rd for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding is currently regulated on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, West Virginia scores a 10.0, which signfies that it is very easy for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in West Virginia. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to West Virginia lawsuit loans

Accident Injury in West Virginia

West Virginia’s yearly injury death rate of 94.1 per 100,000 places it 56.7% higher than the national average of 60.1.

West Virginia residents drive an estimated total of 20 billion miles yearly. That means the average West Virginia resident drives about of 10,751 miles per year. That figure is 11.6% higher than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. West Virginia residents are about average when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 84.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in West Virginia, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 0.7%, which is 62.1% lower than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in West Virginia is 14.5. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $397 million yearly.

West Virginia Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 55, Ch. 2, Sec. 55-2-12; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in West Virginia is 2 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame.

Different states follow have different comparative negligence statutes. In West Virginia, the guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Basically, this means that plaintiff can only recover for damages not caused by own negligence – W. Va. Code § 55-7-13. Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in West Virginia must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist property damage coverage

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in West Virginia

Lawsuit loans in West Virginia remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift funds personal injury claims in most states. If you have any questions, or are interested in legal funding, apply online today or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Washington Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Washington. With a population of 7,170,351, Washington is the 13th largest state in the United States, and ranks 28th for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, Washington scores a 10.0. This means that we consider it very easy for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in Washington. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in Washington.

Accident Injury in Washington

Washington’s yearly injury death rate of 59.8 per 100,000 places it -0.4% lower than the national average of 60.1.

Washington residents drive an estimated total of 60 billion miles yearly. That means the average Washington resident drives about of 8,319 miles per year. That figure is 13.6% lower than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. Washington residents are pretty good when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 97.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in Washington, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 2.1%, which is 13.6% higher than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in Washington is 7.9. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $654 million yearly.

Washington Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 4, Ch. 16, Sec. 4.16.080; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Washington is 3 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame.

Different states follow differing comparative negligence statutes. In Washington, the guideline is pure comparative fault. Basically, this means that plaintiff’s negligence will be allocated their own percentage portion, for which defendants will not be held responsible – R.C.W.A. §§ 4.22.005-015. Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Washington must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $5,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Washington

Lawsuit loans in Washington remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans on personal injury claims in most states. If you have any questions, or are interested in legal funding, apply online or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Virginia Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Virginia. With a population of 8,382,993, Virginia is the 12th largest state in the United States, and ranks 21st for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, Virginia scores a 10.0. This means that we consider it very easy for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in Virginia. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in Virginia.

Virginia Personal Injury Statistics

Virginia has a yearly injury death rate of 52.9 per 100,000. This places Virginia much lower than the national average of 60.1, by about -12.0%.

Virginia residents drive an estimated total of 83 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 9,856 miles per year. To compare, that’s 2.3% higher than the national average of 9,630 miles per year.Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate.

In Virginia, residents are fairly bad when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 78.0%. The drinking rate in Virginia, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 24.3% lower than the national average of 1.8% at 1.4%.

Partly because of these factors, Virginia’s car accident fatality rate is 9.0. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $947 million yearly.

Virginia Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 8.01, Ch. 4, Sec. 8.01-243; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Virginia is 2 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame. Different states follow slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. In Virginia, the guideline is pure contributory negligence. Basically, this means that if plaintiff at fault for some damages, may be barred from recovery – Baskett v. Banks, 45 S.E.2d 173. Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Virginia must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Virginia

The Virginia legislature has proposed, but did not pass. Nearly all legal funding companies provide funding in Virginia.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides legal funding in most states. Apply online or call us today at (800) 385-3660 for instant lawsuit loan pre-approval.

Lawsuit Loans in Vermont

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Vermont. Vermont has a population of 626,042, making it the 19th largest state in the United States. It ranks 11th for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding is currently regulated on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, Vermont scores a 6.7, which signfies that it is relatively tough for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in Vermont. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to Vermont lawsuit loans

Vermont Personal Injury Statistics

Vermont has a yearly injury death rate of 71.2 per 100,000. This places Vermont substantially higher than the national average of 60.1, by about 18.5%.

Vermont residents drive an estimated total of 7 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 11,683 miles per year. To compare, that’s 21.3% higher than the national average of 9,630 miles per year.Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate. In Vermont, residents are about average when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 84.0%.

The drinking rate in Vermont, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 2.6% lower than the national average of 1.8% at 1.8%.

Partly because of these factors, Vermont’s car accident fatality rate is 9.1. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $86 million yearly.

Vermont Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 12, Part 2, Ch. 23, Subch. 2, Sec. 512; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Vermont is 3 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame.

Different states adhere to slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. In Vermont, the guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Basically, this means that plaintiff can only recover for damages not caused by own negligence – Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 12, § 1036. Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Vermont must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $20,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Vermont

Vermont’s Sec. A.1. 8 V.S.A. chapter 74 requires lawsuit funding companies to be licensed as lenders in the state. Requires legal funding companies to disclose several items on their contracts, including fees, APR, the total amount due in a schedule, the right to rescission, etc.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift funds personal injury claims in most states. Apply online today or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Lawsuit Loans in Utah

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Utah. Utah has a population of 2,995,919, making it the 3largest state in the United States. It ranks 2nd for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding is currently regulated on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, Utah scores a 10.0, which signfies that it is very easy for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in Utah. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to Utah lawsuit loans

Accident Injury in Utah

Utah’s yearly injury death rate of 62.7 per 100,000 places it 4.4% higher than the national average of 60.1.

Utah residents drive an estimated total of 30 billion miles yearly. That means the average Utah resident drives about of 9,881 miles per year. That figure is 2.6% higher than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. Utah residents are about average when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 82.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in Utah, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 0.7%, which is 62.1% lower than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in Utah is 9.2. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $268 million yearly.

Utah Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 78, Ch. 12, Sec. 78-12-25; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Utah is 4 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame. Different states follow slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. In Utah, the guideline is modified comparative fault with a 50% threshold. Basically, this means that plaintiff can only recover where defendants account for the majority of fault – U.C.A. § 78B-5-818(2). Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Utah must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $100,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $10,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Utah

Lawsuit loans in Utah remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift funds personal injury claims in most states. If you have any questions, or are interested in legal funding, apply online today or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Lawsuit Loans in Texas

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Texas. Texas has a population of 27,469,114, making it the 2nd largest state in the United States. It ranks 23rd for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding is currently regulated on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, Texas scores a 10.0, which signfies that it is very easy for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in Texas. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to Texas lawsuit loans

Texas Personal Injury Statistics

Texas has a yearly injury death rate of 54.4 per 100,000. This places Texas much lower than the national average of 60.1, by about -9.5%.

Texas residents drive an estimated total of 258 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 9,397 miles per year. To compare, that’s 2.4% lower than the national average of 9,630 miles per year.Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate.

In Texas, residents are pretty good when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 94.0%.

The drinking rate in Texas, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 13.6% higher than the national average of 1.8% at 2.1%.

Partly because of these factors, Texas’s car accident fatality rate is 12.8. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $4,890 million yearly.

Texas Legal Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Civ. Prac. & Rem Code, Title 2, Ch. 16, Sec. 16.003; the civil statute of limitations in Texas is 2 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue for negligence if you do not file your lawsuit within the limit.

The degree to which plaintiff negligence impacts the liability claim varies from state-to-state. Texas’s guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Essentially, this means that plaintiff damages may be reduced by his portion of fault – Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code Ann. §§ 33.001-33.017. Its important to keep in mind that if you request car accident lawsuit loans early-on in your claim, legal funding underwriters must assume Texas state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $65,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $3,000 personal injury protection

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Texas

Lawsuit loans in Texas remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides legal funding in most states including Texas. Apply online or call us today at (800) 385-3660.

Tennessee Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding does not provide non-recourse lawsuit loans in Tennessee. With a population of 6,600,299, Tennessee is the 17th largest state in the United States, and ranks 18th for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, Tennessee scores a 0.8. This means that we consider it very tough for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in Tennessee. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in Tennessee.

Tennessee Personal Injury Statistics

Tennessee has a yearly injury death rate of 78.4 per 100,000. This places Tennessee substantially higher than the national average of 60.1, by about 30.6%.

Tennessee residents drive an estimated total of 77 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 11,616 miles per year. To compare, that’s 20.6% higher than the national average of 9,630 miles per year.Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate.

In Tennessee, residents are about average when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 84.0%.

The drinking rate in Tennessee, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 40.5% lower than the national average of 1.8% at 1.1%.

Partly because of these factors, Tennessee’s car accident fatality rate is 14.5. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $1,250 million yearly.

Tennessee Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 28, Ch. 3, Sec. 28-3-104; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Tennessee is 1 year. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame. Different states follow slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. Tennessee follows a modified comparative fault with a 50% threshold guideline. Basically, this means that plaintiff’s negligence offsets defendant’s liability. – McIntyre v. Balentine, 833 S.W.2d 52 (Tenn. 1992). Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Tennessee must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Tennessee

The Tennessee Litigation Financing Consumer Protection Act requires litigation financing firms to register with the state and post a bond in the amount of $50,000. This limits fees charged by lawsuit funding companies to a point at which legal funding is regarded as unprofitable. Most legal funding companies do not provide funding in Tennessee.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides legal funding in most other states. If you have any questions, or are interested in learning more about lawsuit loans, apply online or call us today at (800) 385-3660.

South Dakota Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in South Dakota. With a population of 858,469, South Dakota is the 15th largest state in the United States, and ranks 10th for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, South Dakota scores a 7.5. This means that we consider it relatively tough for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in South Dakota. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in South Dakota.

Accident Injury in South Dakota

South Dakota’s yearly injury death rate of 70.3 per 100,000 places it 17.0% higher than the national average of 60.1.

South Dakota residents drive an estimated total of 9 billion miles yearly. That means the average South Dakota resident drives about of 10,861 miles per year. That figure is 12.8% higher than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. South Dakota residents are fairly bad when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 67.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in South Dakota, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 2.5%, which is 35.3% higher than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in South Dakota is 15.5. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $177 million yearly.

South Dakota Legal Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 15, Ch. 2, Sec. 15-2-14; the civil statute of limitations in South Dakota is 3 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue for negligence if you do not file your lawsuit within the limit.

How plaintiff negligence impacts the liability claim varies from state-to-state. South Dakota’s guideline is slight gross negligence / comparative fault. Essentially, this means that plaintiff’s recovery barred if more than slightly negligent – S.D.C.L. § 20-9-2. Its important to keep in mind that if you request car accident lawsuit loans early-on in your claim, legal funding underwriters must assume South Dakota state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in South Dakota

Lawsuit loans in South Dakota remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans on personal injury claims in most states. If you have any questions, or are interested in legal funding, apply online or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.