Delaware Lawsuit Loans
Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Delaware. With a population of 945,934, Delaware is the 14th largest state in the United States, and ranks 1st for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).
Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, Delaware scores a 10.0. This means that we consider it very easy for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in Delaware. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in Delaware.
Delaware Personal Injury Statistics
Delaware has a yearly injury death rate of 61.7 per 100,000. This places Delaware around than the national average of 60.1, by about 2.7%.
Delaware residents drive an estimated total of 10 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 10,499 miles per year. To compare, that’s 9.0% higher than the national average of 9,630 miles per year.Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate.
In Delaware, residents are about average when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 88.0%.
The drinking rate in Delaware, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 46.1% higher than the national average of 1.8% at 2.7%.
Partly because of these factors, Delaware’s car accident fatality rate is 13.3. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $139 million yearly.
Delaware Legal Funding Cheat Sheet
According to Title 10, Ch. 81, Sec. 8119; the civil statute of limitations in Delaware is 2 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue for negligence if you do not file your lawsuit within the limit. The degree to which plaintiff negligence impacts the liability claim varies from state-to-state. Delaware’s guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold.
Basically, this means that majority plaintiff negligence coupled with plain negligence of defendant bars recovery – 1 Del. C. § 8132; Brittingham v. Layfield, 962 A.2d 916 (Del. 2008). Its important to keep in mind that if you request car accident lawsuit loans early-on in your claim, legal funding underwriters must assume Delaware state minimum policy limits of:
- $15,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability per accident
Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Delaware
Lawsuit loans in Delaware remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.
Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.