Uplift provides fast and easy lawsuit loans nationwide.

New Jersey Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in New Jersey. With a population of 8,958,013, New Jersey is the 11th largest state in the United States, and ranks 11th for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, New Jersey scores a 10.0. This means that we consider it very easy for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in New Jersey. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in New Jersey.

New Jersey Personal Injury Statistics

New Jersey has a yearly injury death rate of 42.8 per 100,000. This places New Jersey substantially lower than the national average of 60.1, by about -28.8%.

New Jersey residents drive an estimated total of 75 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 8,416 miles per year. To compare, that’s 12.6% lower than the national average of 9,630 miles per year.Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate.

In New Jersey, residents are about average when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 88.0%.The drinking rate in New Jersey, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 18.8% lower than the national average of 1.8% at 1.5%.

Partly because of these factors, New Jersey’s car accident fatality rate is 6.3. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $689 million yearly.

New Jersey Legal Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 2A, Ch. 14, Sec. 2A:14-2; the civil statute of limitations in New Jersey is 2 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue for negligence if you do not file your lawsuit within the limit.

The degree to which plaintiff negligence impacts the liability claim varies from state-to-state. New Jersey’s guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Essentially, this means that if plaintiff is not majority at-fault party, damages can be reduced by relative negligence – N.J.S.A. § 2A:15-5.1. Its important to keep in mind that if you request car accident lawsuit loans early-on in your claim, legal funding underwriters must assume New Jersey state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in New Jersey

Several lawsuit funding regulations have been proposed in New Jersey, but none have passed to-date. Almost all funding companies provide legal funding to personal injury plaintiffs in New Jersey.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans on personal injury claims in most states. If you are interested in legal funding, apply online or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Lawsuit Loans in New Hampshire

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in New Hampshire. New Hampshire has a population of 1,330,608, making it the 10th largest state in the United States. It ranks 29th for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding is currently regulated on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, New Hampshire scores a 10.0, which signfies that it is very easy for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in New Hampshire. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to New Hampshire lawsuit loans

Accident Injury in New Hampshire

New Hampshire’s yearly injury death rate of 60.5 per 100,000 places it 0.7% higher than the national average of 60.1.

New Hampshire residents drive an estimated total of 13 billion miles yearly. That means the average New Hampshire resident drives about of 9,841 miles per year. That figure is 2.2% higher than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. New Hampshire residents are fairly bad when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 69.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in New Hampshire, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 1.4%, which is 24.3% lower than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in New Hampshire is 8.6. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $167 million yearly.

New Hampshire Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Chapter 508, Sec. 508.4; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in New Hampshire is 3 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame.

Different states follow slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. In New Hampshire, the guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Basically, this means that if plaintiff is not majority at-fault party, damages can be reduced by relative negligence – N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 507:7(d). Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in New Hampshire must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $5,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $15,000 personal injury protection

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in New Hampshire

Lawsuit loans in New Hampshire remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift funds personal injury claims in most states. Apply online or give us a call today at (800) 385-3660.

Nevada Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Nevada. With a population of 2,890,845, Nevada is the 4th largest state in the United States, and ranks 7th for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, Nevada scores a 8.3. This means that we consider it relatively easy for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in Nevada. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in Nevada.

Accident Injury in Nevada

Nevada’s yearly injury death rate of 68.0 per 100,000 places it 13.2% higher than the national average of 60.1.

Nevada residents drive an estimated total of 26 billion miles yearly. That means the average Nevada resident drives about of 8,968 miles per year. That figure is 6.9% lower than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. Nevada residents are pretty good when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 91.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in Nevada, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 1.8%, which is 2.6% lower than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in Nevada is 11.2. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $356 million yearly.

Nevada Legal Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Chapter 11, Sec 11.190; the civil statute of limitations in Nevada is 2 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue for negligence if you do not file your lawsuit within the limit.

Plaintiff negligence impacts the liability claim differently from state-to-state. Nevada’s guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Essentially, this means that if plaintiff isn’t majority-negligent, recovery adjusted by that amount – N.R.S. § 41-141. Its important to keep in mind that if you request car accident lawsuit loans early-on in your claim, legal funding underwriters must assume Nevada state minimum policy limits of:

  • (Minimum limits if driver purchases car insurance, which is optional.)
  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage
  • $1,000 medical payments coverage

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Nevada

The Supreme Court of Nevada decided that litigation funding constitutes champerty. Champerty is an illegal agreement in which a person with no previous interest in a lawsuit finances it to share in the recovery.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides legal funding in most states. Apply online or call us today at (800) 385-3660.

Nebraska Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Nebraska. With a population of 1,896,190, Nebraska is the 6th largest state in the United States, and ranks 24th for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, Nebraska scores a 5.0. This means that we consider it relatively tough for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in Nebraska. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in Nebraska.

Accident Injury in Nebraska

Nebraska’s yearly injury death rate of 55.0 per 100,000 places it -8.3% lower than the national average of 60.1.

Nebraska residents drive an estimated total of 20 billion miles yearly. That means the average Nebraska resident drives about of 10,601 miles per year. That figure is 10.1% higher than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. Nebraska residents are fairly bad when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 79.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in Nebraska, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 3.4%, which is 84.0% higher than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in Nebraska is 13.0. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $311 million yearly.

Nebraska Legal Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 25, Section 207, 25-207; the civil statute of limitations in Nebraska is 4 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue for negligence if you do not file your lawsuit within the limit.

The degree to which plaintiff negligence impacts the liability claim varies from state-to-state. Nebraska’s guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Essentially, this means that recovery is barred if plaintiff is more than 50% liable and otherwise reduced proportionally – Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-21 and 185.11. Its important to keep in mind that if you request car accident lawsuit loans early-on in your claim, legal funding underwriters must assume Nebraska state minimum policy limits of:

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Nebraska

Nebraska requires licensing and registration, outlines right to cancel; notice; statements required. Maximum of semi-annual compounding. Prominently displayed APR, etc. (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-3306).

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides legal funding in most states. Apply online or call us today at (800) 385-3660.

Lawsuit Loans in Montana

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Montana. Montana has a population of 1,032,949, making it the 13th largest state in the United States. It ranks 28th for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding is currently regulated on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, Montana scores a 10.0, which signfies that it is very easy for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in Montana. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to Montana lawsuit loans

Accident Injury in Montana

Montana’s yearly injury death rate of 88.7 per 100,000 places it 47.8% higher than the national average of 60.1.

Montana residents drive an estimated total of 12 billion miles yearly. That means the average Montana resident drives about of 11,951 miles per year. That figure is 24.1% higher than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. Montana residents are fairly bad when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 76.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in Montana, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 3.4%, which is 84.0% higher than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in Montana is 21.7. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $299 million yearly.

Montana Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 27, Ch. 2, 27-2-204 and 27-2-207; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Montana is 3 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame.

Different states follow slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. In Montana, the guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Basically, this means that plaintiff negligence reduces recovery. If plaintiff negligent at more than 51%, there is no recovery – Mont. Stat. § 27-1-702. Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Montana must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Montana

Lawsuit loans in Montana remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans on personal injury claims in most states. If you have any questions, or are interested in legal funding, apply online or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Missouri Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Missouri. With a population of 6,083,672, Missouri is the 18th largest state in the United States, and ranks 14th for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, Missouri scores a 4.2. This means that we consider it relatively tough for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in Missouri. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in Missouri.

Missouri Personal Injury Statistics

Missouri has a yearly injury death rate of 74.3 per 100,000. This places Missouri substantially higher than the national average of 60.1, by about 23.7%.

Missouri residents drive an estimated total of 72 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 11,821 miles per year. To compare, that’s 22.8% higher than the national average of 9,630 miles per year.Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate.

In Missouri, residents are fairly bad when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 79.0%. The drinking rate in Missouri, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 2.6% lower than the national average of 1.8% at 1.8%.

Partly because of these factors, Missouri’s car accident fatality rate is 14.3. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $981 million yearly.

Missouri Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 35, Ch. 516, Sec. 516.120; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Missouri is 5 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame. Different states follow slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. In Missouri, the guideline is pure comparative fault. Basically, this means that plaintiff negligence reduces liability of defendant – Gustafson v. Benda, 661 S.W.2d 11. Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Missouri must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Missouri

Missouri had several bills designed to regulate lawsuit funding companies proposed, but none have passed to-date.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides legal funding in most states. If you have any questions, or are interested in learning more about lawsuit loans, apply online or call us today at (800) 385-3660.

Lawsuit Loans in Mississippi

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Mississippi. Mississippi has a population of 2,992,333, making it the largest state in the United States. It ranks 21st for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding is currently regulated on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, Mississippi scores a 10.0, which signfies that it is very easy for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in Mississippi. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to Mississippi lawsuit loans

Mississippi Personal Injury Statistics

Mississippi has a yearly injury death rate of 81.8 per 100,000. This places Mississippi substantially higher than the national average of 60.1, by about 36.2%.

Mississippi residents drive an estimated total of 40 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 13,331 miles per year. To compare, that’s 38.4% higher than the national average of 9,630 miles per year.Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate.

In Mississippi, residents are about average when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 83.0%. The drinking rate in Mississippi, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 35.1% lower than the national average of 1.8% at 1.2%.

Partly because of these factors, Mississippi’s car accident fatality rate is 22.6. This compares unfavorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $861 million yearly.

Mississippi Legal Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 15, Ch. 1, Sec. 15-1-49; the civil statute of limitations in Mississippi is 3 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue for negligence if you do not file your lawsuit within the limit.

The degree to which plaintiff negligence impacts the liability claim varies from state-to-state. Mississippi’s guideline is pure comparative fault. Essentially, this means that plaintiff’s recovery may be reduced by his own liability, but he will not be barred from recovering – M.C.A. § 11-7-15. Its important to keep in mind that if you request car accident lawsuit loans early-on in your claim, legal funding underwriters must assume Mississippi state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Mississippi

Lawsuit loans in Mississippi remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift funds personal injury claims in most states. To learn more, apply online today or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Lawsuit Loans in Minnesota

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Minnesota. Minnesota has a population of 5,489,594, making it the 2largest state in the United States. It ranks 26th for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding regulation is on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, Minnesota scores a 3.3, meaning it is relatively tough for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in Minnesota. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to Minnesota lawsuit loans

Minnesota Personal Injury Statistics

Minnesota has a yearly injury death rate of 57.0 per 100,000. This places Minnesota much lower than the national average of 60.1, by about -5.0%.

Minnesota residents drive an estimated total of 57 billion miles yearly, which means that the average resident drives about of 10,455 miles per year. To compare, that’s 8.6% higher than the national average of 9,630 miles per year.Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt use and drunk driving habits play a large part in the car accident death rate.

In Minnesota, residents are pretty good when it comes to buckling up, reporting a usage rate of 94.0%. The drinking rate in Minnesota, measured as the percent of people who reported drinking too much before driving in the prior month, is 29.9% higher than the national average of 1.8% at 2.4%.

Partly because of these factors, Minnesota’s car accident fatality rate is 7.5. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $521 million yearly.

Minnesota Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Ch. 541, Sec 541.05, 541.07; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Minnesota is 6 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame.

Different states follow slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. In Minnesota, the guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. This means that defendant’s liability is reduced in-line with share of fault. If plaintiff is greater than 50% responsible, and there are multiple defendants, each less than 50% liable, plaintiff is barred from recovery – M.S.A. § 604.01(1). Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Minnesota must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Minnesota

The Supreme Court of Minnesota ruled that litigation funding constitutes champerty. Champerty is an illegal agreement in which a person with no previous interest in a lawsuit finances it to share in its recovery. This makes most lawsuit funding companies very conservative with funding in the state.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans on personal injury claims in most states. Apply online or give us a call at (800) 385-3660 to learn more.

Michigan Lawsuit Loans

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Michigan. With a population of 9,922,576, Michigan is the 10th largest state in the United States, and ranks 1st for per capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Because funding regulation is complex, Uplift developed a funding-ease scale. This scale helps plaintiffs understand what part their state plays in lawsuit loan decisions. On a scale of 0 to 10, Michigan scores a 10.0. This means that we consider it very easy for plaintiffs to get lawsuit loans in Michigan. Read more information below about the legal funding environment in Michigan.

Accident Injury in Michigan

Michigan’s yearly injury death rate of 61.8 per 100,000 places it 2.9% higher than the national average of 60.1.

Michigan residents drive an estimated total of 98 billion miles yearly. That means the average Michigan resident drives about of 9,861 miles per year. That figure is 2.4% higher than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. Michigan residents are pretty good when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 94.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in Michigan, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 1.9%, which is 2.8% higher than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in Michigan is 9.7. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $1,200 million yearly.

Michigan Legal Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Chapter 600, Act 236, Ch. 58, Sec. 600.5805, number 9; the civil statute of limitations in Michigan is 3 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue for negligence if you do not file your lawsuit within the limit.

The degree to which plaintiff negligence impacts the liability claim varies from state-to-state. Michigan’s guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Essentially, this means that recovery is reduced by proportion of plaintiff fault. 51% plaintiff bars non-economic damages and offsets economic damages – M.C.L.A. § 600.2959. Its important to keep in mind that if you request car accident lawsuit loans early-on in your claim, legal funding underwriters must assume Michigan state minimum policy limits of:

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $40,000 personal injury protection

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Michigan

Lawsuit loans in Michigan remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift funds personal injury claims in most states. To apply or learn more about legal funding in Michigan, contact us online or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.

Lawsuit Loans in Massachusetts

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans in Massachusetts. Massachusetts has a population of 6,794,422, making it the 15th largest state in the United States. It ranks 15th for per-capita fatal injuries (D.C. included).

Legal funding is currently regulated on a state-by-state basis. Based on industry data, Uplift developed a scale to measure a state’s ‘legal funding ease’ quotient. On a scale of 0 to 10, Massachusetts scores a 10.0, which signfies that it is very easy for injured plaintiffs to access legal funding in Massachusetts. To learn more about injury statistics and legal funding in your state, read this brief guide to Massachusetts lawsuit loans

Accident Injury in Massachusetts

Massachusetts’s yearly injury death rate of 46.3 per 100,000 places it -22.9% lower than the national average of 60.1.

Massachusetts residents drive an estimated total of 59 billion miles yearly. That means the average Massachusetts resident drives about of 8,721 miles per year. That figure is 9.4% lower than the U.S. national average of 9,630 miles per year.

Aside from miles driven, local seatbelt and drinking and driving habits play a large part in the auto accident death rate. Massachusetts residents are fairly bad when it comes to buckling up, reporting a 73.0% use rate.

The drinking rate in Massachusetts, or the percent of people who report drinking too much before driving at least once in the prior month is 2.2%, which is 19.0% higher than the national average of 1.8%.

In part due to these factors, the car accident fatality rate in Massachusetts is 4.5. This compares favorably to the US national average of 10.9, and costs the state $438 million yearly.

Massachusetts Lawsuit Funding Cheat Sheet

According to Title 5, Ch. 260, Secs. 2A and 4; the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Massachusetts is 3 years. This means that you may lose the right to sue if you do not file your legal claim within that time-frame.

Different states follow slightly differing comparative negligence statutes. In Massachusetts, the guideline is modified comparative fault with a 51% threshold. Basically, this means that plaintiff negligence reduces recovery proportionally, and recovery is barred if plaintiff majority at-fault – M.G.L.A. 231 § 85. Often, for legal funding requests early-on in a case, companies providing lawsuit loans in Massachusetts must assume state minimum policy limits of:

  • $20,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • Personal injury protection (unlimited)
  • $1 million property protection

Regulation of Lawsuit Loans in Massachusetts

Lawsuit loans in Massachusetts remain largely unregulated and most legal funding companies provide funding in the state.

Despite lack of regulation, reputable companies follow basic best-practice disclosure guidelines for legal funding contracts. Lawsuit lenders nationwide should display rates, fees and repayment terms prominently.

Lawsuit Loans from Uplift Legal Funding

Uplift Legal Funding provides non-recourse lawsuit loans on personal injury claims in most states. To learn more about legal funding with Uplift, apply online or give us a call at (800) 385-3660.